String Cheese Incident December 3rd 2011 United Palace Theater New York, NY

String Cheese Incident

Set One: Cedar Laurel>Sittin’ On Top of the World, Blue Bossa, Windy Mountain, Way That it Goes, Song in My Head, It Is What It Is

Set Two: Just One Story, Sirens>Daryl, Don’t It Make You Wanna Dance, Dirk, BollyMunster, ‘Round the Wheel

Encore: The Bridge, I Wish

Background:

The band is composed of Michael Kang (acoustic/electric mandolin, electric guitar, and violin), Michael Travis (drums and percussion), Bill Nershi (acoustic guitarlap steel guitar, and electric slide guitar), Kyle Hollingsworth (pianoorganRhodes, and accordion), and Keith Moseley (bass guitar), and, in 2006, Jason Hann, an auxiliary percussionist. The origin of the band’s name is unknown.

I had never seen this band before and was pumped for a solid performance.  I knew these guys played a bunch of Festivals..and they were pretty mellow.  They had some bluegrass, country, even reggae, all jam band style, put together.  Definitely a big variety…I was open to it.  A band from Colorado sounded like a good time as well.  Some Cowboys havin a good ol’ time.

They sounded just like they are described..mellow, bluegrassish’ fun..twist of country to them..and they jam hard.  I wasnt familiar with the tunes, but they are easy to follow along to.  I was hoping for a “Best Feeling” or “Miss Browns Teahouse”, but there is always tomorrow night..

Kyle’s “Thats Just the Way that it Goes” was a fun tune and sounded familiar.  You could follow along and enjoy it, and Kyle really has a great voice.  I liked “Song in my Head” and “It is What it Is”, but nothing really excited me that much.  The songs would just kind of end hard and didnt jive into the next one so well.  I could feel pretty good during some jams, but was not able to shake all the energy out.  Its there, but not completely.
The first set gave me a “decent” feeling, but nothing extreme.

The second set definitely rocked harder.  They brought it up a notch, which was needed.  Dont It Make You Wanna Dance had me going a lil more and I was able to jump around the joint a little more for Dirk and BollyMunster.  There was energy, dancing, DeadHeads, a pretty good venue..people were jiving this set.  I think the fanbase does everything they can for these guys..but they jsut cant make them jam harder..which they need.

Rating: 7.5

Leave a Reply

